24
OCT
2013

Our schools at the conference on Strategies to Promote Greek Education

Under the auspices of His Excellency, Eleftherios Aggelopoulos, Ambassador of Greece to Canada,  in collaboration with the Greek Educational Affairs Office in Canada, and in the presence of the three General Consuls to Canada, Mr. Thanos Kafopoulos, Consul General of Greece in Montreal, Mr. Elias Kremmydas, Consul General of Greece in Vancouver, Mr. Iacovos Giragosian, Consul General of Cyprus in Toronto, a major Canadian Conference was held last Saturday on Strategies to Promote Greek Education (the Greek language, culture and Orthodox faith).

Hosted by the Hellenic Community of Ottawa, over sixty authorities from Vancouver to Newfoundland were present, including representatives from numerous Greek communities and Greek schools, from pre-school to university. Front row center was the Hellenic Community of Greater Montreal and École primaire Socrates et Démosthène. Accompanying the Director General, Chris Adamopoulos, was Aliki Daher from the Board of Directors and Secretary of Supplementary Education of the HCGM, as well as Chrisoula Petimeza, the Director of Greek Education of the School, the Director of Platon-Omeros School, Mike Patsatzis, the Director of St-Nicolas School, Katie Kiryakides and four Socrates et Démosthène teachers, Elli Mandalenakis, Frances Liontaris, Eleni Dracopoulou and Yannis Moutafides.

École primaire Socrates et Démosthène, already acknowledged as the foremost authority on multilingual and Greek Education across Canada, North America and the world, was the focus, as most of the other schools were looking on ways of improving their product and enrollment. The Director General was a keynote presenter and dazzled the audience with a fabulous PowerPoint presentation on our School as he elaborated with details about Socrates et Démosthène’s mission, programs, current issues and the School’s long history of successes and accomplishments. Chris Adamopoulos focused on the topic on hand, the Greek Program, and explained that it was one of our School’s top priorities to offer a program of the highest possible levels along with a high level French and English Programs.

The Director General also elaborated on about two current projects the School is working on, an International Baccalaureate campus and our first ever multilingual full-time private high school. Inspiring the warm audience, he answered numerous questions and invited everyone to pay our Community and School a visit. The Greek Education Coordinator, Dr. Despina Hatzidiakou, thanked the Director General, and announced that her Office looked forward to a continued collaboration.

Meanwhile, the university statistical analysis that was commissioned and presented by the Greek Education Office on what exactly is being taught across Canada, to whom and where in terms of Greek Education, revealed some interesting findings. Ontario might have more youth enrolled in some kind of a Greek program, but Quebec leads in quality and structure. Special emphasis was given to the fact that in Montreal numerous pre-kindergarten programs and associated CPE’s help feed Socrates et Démosthène, something not found anywhere else in Canada. And only Quebec offered adult Greek programs, courtesy of the HCGM’s Greek Studies Program.

Finally, a surprise announcement was made to the audience by the Director of Ottawa’s Museum of Civilization, M. Michel Côté, about a fabulous new art and artifact exhibition that it would be hosting in 2015. Some 500 pieces covering over 5000 years of Greek history will be on display. This exhibition, which according to the Director has the capacity to change one’s life, will be called GREEKS FROM AGAMEMNON TO ALEXANDER THE GREAT. Ottawa is one of only four North-American cities that will host this exhibition. Our School will make every effort to send as many children as possible, with their teachers, to visit this exhibition in 2015.

24
OCT
2013

Notre École à la Conférence sur les Stratégies de promotion de l’éducation grecque

Sous les auspices de Son Excellence Eleftherios Angelopoulos, ambassadeur de Grèce au Canada, en collaboration avec l’Office grec des Affaires éducatives au Canada, et en présence de trois consuls généraux au Canada, M. Thanos Kafopoulos, Consul général de Grèce à Montréal, M. Elias Kremmydas, Consul général de Grèce à Vancouver et M. Iacovos Giragosian, Consul général de Chypre à Toronto, une importante conférence canadienne a eu lieu samedi dernier sur les stratégies de promotion de l’éducation grecque (la langue et  la culture grecques ainsi que la foi orthodoxe).
Reçus par la Communauté hellénique d’Ottawa, plus de soixante autorités de Vancouver à Terre-Neuve étaient présentes, dont des représentants de nombreuses communautés et écoles grecques, du préscolaire à l’université. Centre de premier rang était la Communauté hellénique du Grand Montréal et de l’École primaire Socrates et Démosthène . Accompagnant le directeur général, Chris Adamopoulos, était Aliki Daher du conseil d’administration et secrétaire de l’éducation complémentaire du CHGM, ainsi que Chrisoula Petimeza, la directrice de l’éducation grecque de l’École, le directeur de l’école Platon – Omeros, Mike Patsatzis, la directrice de l’école St-Nicolas, Katie Kiryakides ainsi que quatre enseignantes et enseignant de Socrates et Démosthène, Elli Mandalenakis, Frances Liontaris, Eleni Dracopoulou et Yannis Moutafidis.
L’École primaire Socrates et Démosthène, déjà reconnue comme la première autorité sur l’éducation multilingue et grecque partout au Canada, en Amérique du Nord et dans le monde, était au centre de l’attention, puisque la plupart des autres écoles étaient à la recherche de moyens d’améliorer leur produit et leur nombre d’inscriptions. Le directeur général était le principal conférencier. Il a séduit le public avec une superbe présentation PowerPoint sur notre École pendant qu’il donné des précisions sur la mission de Socrates et Démosthène, ses programmes, ses enjeux actuels et la longue histoire des réussites et des réalisations de l’École. Chris Adamopoulos s’est concentré sur le sujet du jour, le programme grec, et a expliqué que c’était l’une des priorités de notre École : offrir un programme au plus haut niveau possible, en grec comme en français et en anglais.
Le Directeur général a également approfondi sur deux projets sur lesquels l’École travaille, présentement : un campus du Baccalauréat international et notre première école secondaire multilingue privée à temps plein. Inspirant un public chaleureux, il a répondu à de nombreuses questions et a invité tout le monde à visiter notre communauté et notre École. La coordonnatrice de l’éducation grecque, la Dre Despina Hatzidiakou a remercié le directeur général, et a annoncé que son bureau se réjouit de poursuivre leur collaboration.
Les représentants du bureau d’éducation grecque ont présenté une analyse statistique universitaire qu’ils ont commandée, sur ce qui est enseigné à travers le Canada, à qui et où, en matière d’éducation grecque. Les résultats se sont avérés intéressants. L’Ontario a peut-être plus de jeunes inscrits dans une sorte ou une autre de programme grec, mais le Québec mène dans la qualité et la structure. Un accent particulier a été mis sur le fait qu’à Montréal, de nombreux programmes de prématernelle et de CPE associés amènent des élèves à Socrates et Démosthène, ce qui ne se trouve nulle part ailleurs au Canada. Et seul le Québec offre des programmes grecs aux adultes, gracieuseté du programme d’études grecques de la CHGM.
Enfin, une annonce-surprise a été faite à l’auditoire par le directeur du Musée de la civilisation, M. Michel Côté : une fabuleuse nouvelle exposition d’art et d’archéologie sera présentée en 2015. Quelque 500 pièces couvrant plus de 5000 ans d’histoire de la Grèce seront rassemblées. Cette exposition, qui selon le directeur a la capacité de changer la vie, se nomme Les Grecs, d’Agamemnon à Alexandre le Grand. Ottawa est l’une des quatre seules villes nord-américaines l’accueilleront. Notre École mettra tout en œuvre pour envoyer autant d’enfants que possible, avec leurs enseignants, visiter cette exposition en 2015.